ABBREVIATIONS

GP: Gram Panchayat

GS Gram Sabha

DPC: District Planning Committee

MGNREGA: Mahatma Gandhi Rural Employment Guarantee Act

DC: Deputy Commissioner

PRIs: Panchayati Raj Institutions

IAY: Indria Avas Yojana

J.E: Junior Engineer

A.E: Assistant Engineer

MP: Member of Parliament

MLA: Member of Legislative Assembly

BDO: Block Development Officer

RD: Rural Development

SIRD: State Institute of Rural Development

MCS: Meghalaya Civil Service

JGO: Junior Grade Officers

DC: District Council

EO: Executive Officer

VC: Village Council

TA: Travel Allowance

DA: Daily Allowance

NGOs: Non-Governmental Organizations

VLWs: Village Level Workers

IBM: International Business Management Company

SGSY: Swarnajayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana

IRDP: Integrated Rural Development Programme

GPDP: Gram Panchayat Development Plan

MoPR: Ministry of Panchayati Raj

PESA: "The Provisions of the Panchayats (Extension to

the Scheduled Areas)

CDO: Chief Development Officer

SRES: State Rural Employment Society

MSR.LS: Meghalaya State Rural Livelihood Mission

MSSAT: Meghalaya Society for Social Audit and Transparency

DRDA: District Rural Development Agency

BRGF: Backward Regions Grant Funds

RII: Reforming Implementing Institutions

NIRD: National Institute of Rural Development

PWD: Public Work Department